Capital I

i’ve taken to avoiding capitalizing the pronoun of self-reference.  i mean, how would it look if i capitalized “Me” all the time?  Anyways, thinking about that made me think about this.  And now i have a song stuck in my head…

We all live in a capital I
In the middle of the desert
In the center of the sky
And all day long we polish on the I
To keep it clean and shiny
So it brightens up the sky
Rubbing it here
And scrubbing it there
Polishing the I
So high in the air

As we work we sing a lively tune
“It is great to be so happy on a busy afternoon.”
And when we’re through with the day’s only chore
We go into the I
And we close the door

Capital I, capital I, capital I, capital I

Leave a Reply

